Yeah, okay, so I needed a motivational blog name, seeing as I am sinking yet again into my laziness. I’ve been meaning to write a blog since Sunday, after I finished reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, however, I got sidetracked. Instead of simply clicking open this page and typing up my random thoughts and comments in an incoherent fashion, I googled Harry Potter, and started to read reviews about the book, and I even went onto 3 Harry Potter fan sites. Pathetic really. So 6 days after I finished reading it, I have finally decided to write a post about it.

I had really high hopes for this book. And by high hopes, I mean high hopes. In the previous book (Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince), J.K. Rowling ended on a spectacular note. Leaving readers on the edge of their seats, literally hunting the net for any clues as to what would happen next. So when this recent book came out, naturally, I wanted to read it as soon as possible. Despite the fact that I hadn’t pre-ordered a book and I had work on Saturday starting at 9am (the time of the grand opening of the boxes) I managed to hold out until I finished work at 1.30pm, and then ran to Kmart to buy a copy. I thought I might have to wait in line, but all I did was walk/run into the store, snatch the book off the shelf, and then run/jog to the counter to pay. But ALAS, LoL, I couldn’t start the book until 10pm since my cousins were down…so I resolved that I wouldn’t put the book down until I finished it. So I stayed up until 6am Sunday morning reading the damn book.

So what did I think of the book? Well, at first, I LOVED it. I LOVED Snape, LOVED Harry and LOVED all the violence. But after thinking about it, and thinking that J.K Rowling could’ve done so much more, I’ve now come to the conclusion that it is actually quite shitty. I mean, come on guys! Three quarters of the book Harry, Hermoine and Ron(part-time) were running around bushes trying to stay alive! Then there’s the 1000000 times when Harry should have died! It was pure chance and luck that he lived. I soooo wanted him to die. I don’t know why though, I just did. And it didn’t help that in final fighting scene between Harry and Voldermort, I expected a HUGE, MASSIVE, COLOURS EXPLODING EVERYWHERE scence, but all I got was a measly Expelliarmus!! WHERE ARE MY FIREWORKS?! WHERE ARE MY FLASH BANG, STATE OF THE ART MAGIC WANDS FLYING EVERYWHERE?! THE EXCITEMENT!! THE ANTICIPATION!!! NINE WHOLE YEARS WORTH OF READING SHOVED INTO A TEENY TINY MEASLY FEW PARAGRAPHS!! It’s as though Rowling was teasing us all these years!! Building up the excitement until I nearly peed my pants, then the GRANNNNDD FINALE was simply SHIT! I’m, sorry guys, but you gotta admit, it was crap. I didn’t enjoy it, it didn’t cure my Potter-cravings, and now I’m left with a big, empty hole in my magical heart. Also, the last chapter “nineteen years later”, wtf was that?! Talk about waste of space. Space she could’ve used to include more duelling, or maybe expand and explain abit more as to what happened to the characters, apart from the ridiculous names they named their kids. *coughALBUSSEVERUScough*. I wanted to know whether or not Harry ended up as an Auror, or whether Draco is not ‘good’ or ‘bad’. She didn’t even tell us what happened to George, the rest of the Weasley family, nor did she tell us the fate of those in the Order of the Phoenix. *sighs* Not happen Jan. 😦

ahh well, I guess I’ll just have to make do with the Order of the Phoenix and the Half Blood prince, read, then re-read, then re-read them till I know them off by heart. *sighs*

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone

How different do they look since they made the first movie till now?!

Harry Potter 3 kids Harry Potter and kids

My oh my, see how they’ve grown? It’s like the Olsen twins, we’ve watched them grow up and go through puberty on stage. And I love the fact that Harry (Daniel Radcliff) is the same age as me…well, a few months older, that’s it. So it’s as if I’m watching a friend of mine on screen that I can relate to.

Corny, I know. But oh well, I love HARRY POTTER!!!

POTTER!! POTTER!! POTTER!!

…i’ll go to sleep tonight inventing my own version of how the Deathly Hallows should be 😛

xoxo


