For my English SAC (School Assessed Coursework) I have to do two creative writing pieces. But seeing as I am creatively-challenged, I’m not even going to venture onto the path of a short story. If I did, it would probably turn out to be suspiciously similar to Harry Potter. I might even call it, “Tom Smith and the boy who died.” hmm…not a bad idea actually, LoL, no, I joke, I’d probably get my arse kicked by the teachers and fail english =| not good, seeing as I’m aiming for something ridiculously high.

Anyway, I’m thinking about writing a series of blog posts, maybe about 5 or so, for part 1 of the SAC. But on what?! *sighs* Maybe fashion? …what else is there to write about? Oh god, how annoying. THEN, there’s the other half to worry about. I was going to write a review on Cirque Du Soleil ‘Vakerai’ (OMG!! IT’S AWESOME!! YOU GUYS HAVE TO WATCH IT IF YOU GET THE CHANCE!!!), BUT since I’m already writing a blog which is in the same category as the reviews, I can’t. Which sucks. Big time. WHAT TO DO, WHAT TO DO?! *sighs*

…I wish I knew how to put Youtube clips on here. But since I don’t, here’s a short clip from Varekai, “Icarian Games”and my favourite act, the Russian Swings.

Varekai -Slippery Surface Varekai -Icarian Games
Slippery Surface       
Icarian Games

The story of Varekai.

“Deep within a forest, at the summit of a volcano, exists an extraordinary world—a world where something else is possible. A world called Varekai.

From the sky falls a solitary young man, and the story of Varekai begins. Parachuted into the shadows of a magical forest, a kaleidoscopic world populated by fantastical creatures, this young man sets off on an adventure both absurd and extraordinary. On this day at the edge of time, in this place of all possibilities, begins an inspired incantation to life rediscovered.

The word varekai means “wherever” in the Romany language of the gypsies the universal wanderers. This production pays tribute to the nomadic soul, to the spirit and art of the circus tradition, and to the infinite passion of those whose quest takes them along the path that leads to Varekai.”

Varekai -Russian Swings Varekai -Triple Trapeze
Russian Swings       
Triple Trapeze

The world of Varekai is magical. As soon as you walk into the big top, you feel as though you’ve entered another world. A world where anything can happen. The colours are amazing, the costumes are masterpieces and the acts are simply jaw droppingly breathtaking.

Most circus acts that I’ve seen, you know it’s a circus, you feel like your at the circus and it’s even got that “circus air” about it. However, Varekai is something else. It makes you totally forget that your even at the circus. With no animals invovled, the acrobats manage to pull off flawless stunts that are beyond belief. In one act, there are five men who continuously flip each other into aerial loops using only their feet (Icarian Games), then in another dazzling spectacle, Irina Naumenko balances on canes turning upside down, inside out, the wrong way around, making it all seem oh-so-easy. Critics have praised Irina as the worlds most talented contortionist. And they are right. Seeing her in action almost makes you weak at the knees, with your mouths gaping open, staring at her freshly cooked spaghetti-like body.

The intensity from the audience combined with the extreme focus from the performers emits a kind of bzz right throughout the show. This is by far the best circus I have seen. No wait, not just the best circus, but best performance I have ever seen. A must see for anyone and everyone. 50/10 🙂

